Open daily!

    Current exhibitions Upcoming Past

Exhibition of Estonian Textile Artists’ Union

April 28 - June 2, 2019

During the last two years textile artists have been searching answers to questions if and why do we need any rules or rituals.
Do we need regulation and order, structures, restrictions, common rules or rules that fix exceptions? What about my freedom? Does it not consist of rules of my own? The artists have found various ways to answer or antagonise these questions, to ponder on these themes or to ask new questions. The exhibition is a meeting place for works that test the traditions and boundaries of textile art, from interwoven blankets and painted textiles to sculptural forms.

At the opening of the exhibition the laureates of the Annual Award of the Estonian Textile Artists’ Union will be announced.
The jury – Kai Lobjakas (art historian director of Estonian Museum of Applied Arts and Design and curator of design collection), Helen Adamson (art historian, curator of textile collection of Estonian Museum of Applied Arts and Design, Karin Paulus (design critic), Terje Luure (interior architect), Elin Kard (Vice President of Estonian Artists’ Union, galerii galerist of Hobusepea and Draakoni Galleries ), Mare Kelpman (textile designer, Textile Artist of the Year of 2017) and Heleri Alexandra Sits (textile designer, the Young Textile Artist of the Year 2017) – chose the best artists in three categories.

The Textile Artist of the Year 2018 is Lylian Meister.
Lylian Meister is recognised for her enthusiastic and rich creative activity. In 2018 she had three personal exhibitions – The Past at the Gallery and cafe of Rakvere Theatre, The Mercy of the Heaven at Hop Gallery and Tea Party with Boriss Mihhailovitsh at Vabaduse Gallery. Lylian Meister also participated at The 6th Riga International Textile and Fibre Art Triennial Tradition&Innovation. IDENTITY” and at exhibitions in Estonia. The artworks of Lylian Meister are characterised by professionalism together with a solid drop of humour, strong social nerve and responsibility. With equal convincingness she shows her creative work and collected objects, not missing her own groceries and conserves. Roping in other authors she creates masterful art rich in colour and details.

The Act of the Year 2018 is made by the Studio Emma Leppermann.
Studio Emma Leppermann’s passion is handycraft, beautiful natural materials, old textile techniques and creative design solutions. In 2018 there was an Estonian Festival took place in Japan, the target of which was creation of long lasting bonds in cooperation where one of the point persons of introducing Estonian design was Merle Suurkask.

The Young Textile Artist of the Year 2018 is Mari-Triin Kirs.
Mari-Triin Kirs is the fourth year student of textile department of the Pallas University of Applied Sciences. Her portfolio introduces diverse achievements among textile art and design. During her studies already Mari-Triin Kirs has done successful cooperation with designers and enterprises in Estonia as well as abroad, also participated at the annual exhibitions of Estonian Textile Artists’ Union.
Mari-Triin Kirs is very commited to development of her professional skills, interested in materials and technologies and willing to follow principles of sustainability.

Annual exhibitions is a long tradition of the Estonian Textile Artists’ Union, to show the newest artworks and to offer a chance to textile students to participate together with the members of the Union, just like this year – we can see artworks of the students of the Pallas University of Applied Sciences and Estonian Academy of Art. In the recent years it has been customary to organise annual exhibitions in the other towns of Estonia to introduce the artworks of textile artists outside of Tallinn. There are also introductory tours at the exhibitions.

Participants of the annual exhibition Rule and Ritual: Aet Ollisaar, Ainikki Eiskop, Anete Vihm, Anu Raud, Aune Taamal, Ehalill Halliste, Elna Kaasik, Ene Pars, Erika Pedak, Erika Tammpere, Eve Selisaar, Grete Kelder, Heleri Alexandra Sits, Ilme Rätsep, Imbi Kruuv, Ilme-Anu Neemre, Kadi Pajupuu, Krista Leesi, Ljudmilla Swarczewskaja, Marilyn Piirsalu, Maasike Maasik, Malle-Maria Sild, Merike Männi, Merike Roodla, Peeter Kuutma, Riina Samelselg, Sigrid Huik, Siiri Nool, Triin Talts and Tuuli Reinsoo.
A separate exhibition shows the artworks of the authors of the Annual Awards.

Curator – the Board of the Estonian Textile Artists’ Union Madis Liplap
Awards are supported by Kangadzhungel.
The annual exhibition at the Museum of New Art is supported by Estonian Cultural Endowment and the Town Of Pärnu.

© SA Uue Kunsti Muuseum